Tuesday, January 31, 2006

And another thing...

Why do people hate soy so much? Especially those stupid women on the view. They're soy-bashers! Soy is healthy and often delicious. And a good source of protein and it doesn't have the fat and cholesterol that animal products have. Now I'm not a vegetarian, but I do drink soymilk every day, and think it's wonderful. Edamame is quite tastey too! People only give it a bad time because they thought soy was some kind of miracle drug, and when they found out it wasn't they said it was awful and disgusting. Soy doesn't treat diseases people, but it can help prevent them! Mmmmm....soy. Give soy a chance. It'll make your heart happy. And to you soy haters - nobody's forcing you to eat it! So let those of us who enjoy soy do so without being criticized.

I LOVE pears

I am eating the BEST pear right now. It's a comice. It's so juicy and flavorful! And so filled with delicious fiber and vitamins! Mmmmm...fiber. Do your heart a favor and eat more fiber. At least 30 grams a day. Fruits, vegatables, and whole grains are your best friends. Especially pears. Pears and spinach.

Tuesday, January 10, 2006

Demerol is my new true love

I woke up saturday morning with the worst splitting migraine of my life (it was alcohol induced, I am ashamed. I drank too much at my birthday party). Now, I usually take medicine for them, but this day was different. I kept throwing up bile and stomach acid ALL DAY. I couldn't even hold down water. I was miserable, I wanted to die. By the time five o'clock rolled around, I had thrown up seven times, and my head was worse, so I asked Dan to come down and take me to the hospital, knowing they could inject me with some lovely pain killer. Now, the thing about hospitals is that they make you talk to at least three people before they let you be seen. And these people keep asking you how much pain you're in from 0-10, and even if you say 8, they make you sit there and answer more questions, then tell you to wait for your name to be called for registration, where they get your insurance information. The registration guy tells you you have to walk outside and down the walkway to ANOTHER place, the "rapid-care" center, which is a great misnomer, where you have to wait for 45 more minutes to be seen. Meanwhile the bright lights are making your head and your nausea worse, and there's a woman next to you sharpening colored pencils with a really loud sharpener. Then they finally call your name, the nurse takes you to a dark room, then you have to wait to see the "doctor", then wait for the nurse to come back and shoot you full of demerol, in the behind.
Now I don't know if you've ever had demerol, but it is truly amazing. You can instantly feel it spread throughout your body, dissolving all your problems. You feel warm and fuzzy, but then somebody comes into the room and asks you for your credit card, somebody else comes in to see you much pain you're in, the nurse comes back and says you look better, then you have to sign the bill even though you are slowly becomming more and more sedated, then finally somebody comes in to discharge you and again ask you how much pain you're in. Then finally they let you go home and pass out for 13 hours. It was absolutely beautiful.