Monday, November 10, 2008

Do I look 15?

So I went to my friend's child's birthday party a few days ago. He just turned 2 and is one of the cutest kids out there. While I was watching him open presents, this weird 14 year-old kid started talking to me about Yu-Gi-Oh and Magic cards, and why he likes magic cards better than Yu-Gi-Oh. So I was humoring him for a while, then he asked me, "So what grade are you in?" And I couldn't hide my shock at the question.
"What GRADE am I in?! I'm 26."
"Oh, you don't seem that old, you seem more like 14 or 15."
Awesome.
Then a woman who was at the party told me that it was because I look "jovial" and smile a lot, and I "look too happy to be 26." I spent the rest of the party building castles and cities out of foam blocks and playing princesses with her 5 and 6 year-old daughters.

It's been a while

Well, a couple people have convinced me to start doing this again. Since I last posted, many strange things have happened, too many to list right now :)

Thursday, February 23, 2006

Don't drink my beer!

I discovered a while ago that my dad had drunk one of the beers my brother gave me for christmas. This isn't just any beer I'm talking about. It's Rochefort 10, the best Trappist beer out there. I had been looking forward to enjoying it for some time (my dad also had his own), but when I went to get it, it was gone! But now justice has been served, and my dad bought me another one, which I will drink when I get over my cold. I was able to taste a little of it in december and it is like no other beer I've ever tried before. Absolutely delicious, almost wine-like. I can't wait to savor every drop.

Saturday, February 11, 2006

Eeeeewww!

Ugh...I woke up yesterday morning with a SPIDER BITE on my FACE! Is that not the most disgusting thing ever? That means a spider was crawling on my face while I was asleep. And it bit me. It was really bit too, and itchy. But it soon went away. It still gives me the willies...ewww creepy crawlies!

Tuesday, January 31, 2006

And another thing...

Why do people hate soy so much? Especially those stupid women on the view. They're soy-bashers! Soy is healthy and often delicious. And a good source of protein and it doesn't have the fat and cholesterol that animal products have. Now I'm not a vegetarian, but I do drink soymilk every day, and think it's wonderful. Edamame is quite tastey too! People only give it a bad time because they thought soy was some kind of miracle drug, and when they found out it wasn't they said it was awful and disgusting. Soy doesn't treat diseases people, but it can help prevent them! Mmmmm....soy. Give soy a chance. It'll make your heart happy. And to you soy haters - nobody's forcing you to eat it! So let those of us who enjoy soy do so without being criticized.

I LOVE pears

I am eating the BEST pear right now. It's a comice. It's so juicy and flavorful! And so filled with delicious fiber and vitamins! Mmmmm...fiber. Do your heart a favor and eat more fiber. At least 30 grams a day. Fruits, vegatables, and whole grains are your best friends. Especially pears. Pears and spinach.

Tuesday, January 10, 2006

Demerol is my new true love

I woke up saturday morning with the worst splitting migraine of my life (it was alcohol induced, I am ashamed. I drank too much at my birthday party). Now, I usually take medicine for them, but this day was different. I kept throwing up bile and stomach acid ALL DAY. I couldn't even hold down water. I was miserable, I wanted to die. By the time five o'clock rolled around, I had thrown up seven times, and my head was worse, so I asked Dan to come down and take me to the hospital, knowing they could inject me with some lovely pain killer. Now, the thing about hospitals is that they make you talk to at least three people before they let you be seen. And these people keep asking you how much pain you're in from 0-10, and even if you say 8, they make you sit there and answer more questions, then tell you to wait for your name to be called for registration, where they get your insurance information. The registration guy tells you you have to walk outside and down the walkway to ANOTHER place, the "rapid-care" center, which is a great misnomer, where you have to wait for 45 more minutes to be seen. Meanwhile the bright lights are making your head and your nausea worse, and there's a woman next to you sharpening colored pencils with a really loud sharpener. Then they finally call your name, the nurse takes you to a dark room, then you have to wait to see the "doctor", then wait for the nurse to come back and shoot you full of demerol, in the behind.
Now I don't know if you've ever had demerol, but it is truly amazing. You can instantly feel it spread throughout your body, dissolving all your problems. You feel warm and fuzzy, but then somebody comes into the room and asks you for your credit card, somebody else comes in to see you much pain you're in, the nurse comes back and says you look better, then you have to sign the bill even though you are slowly becomming more and more sedated, then finally somebody comes in to discharge you and again ask you how much pain you're in. Then finally they let you go home and pass out for 13 hours. It was absolutely beautiful.

Tuesday, December 27, 2005

Those monks sure know how to make a good beer

I had the pleasure of enjoying some delicious Trappist beer last night! Those guys must have had a lot of time on their hands to be able to perfect this beer. It's a work of ART.

Tuesday, December 06, 2005

Why do I eat apples?

It seems like something bad happens to me every time I eat one. I usually get sick. So today I cut my finger, I have no idea how, but it probably happened while I was slicing my apple. I didn't notice it until I was eating said apple, and there was blood on it! Stupid apple.